Tags

, , , ,


Open Theism is a Christian theology, to which I subscribe, that teaches that God does not know the future decisions of free human agents, because they do not yet exist to be known.
A potential problem text for this view is Jeremiah 1:5. My intent is to refute the idea that this is a problem text for Open Theism.
Here is the text of Jeremiah 1:5 from several translations:
KJV:

5Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

NIV:

5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew [a] you,
before you were born I set you apart;
I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Footnotes:
Jeremiah 1:5a: Or chose
NASB:

5″Before I (A)formed you in the womb I knew you,
And (B)before you were born I consecrated you;
I have (C)appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

NKJV:

5 “ Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;
Before you were born I sanctified you;
I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”

YLT:

5`Before I form thee in the belly, I have known thee; and before thou comest forth from the womb I have separated thee, a prophet to nations I have made thee.’

So, all this being said, how do we interpret this passage? Well, the majority of these translations agree that God said, “before I formed you in the womb I knew you.” Settled View theologians generally hold that this means God knew Jeremiah before he was born. With this I agree. God knew Jeremiah, in zygote and fetus form, for approximately nine months before Jeremiah was born.

But this passage says nothing about knowing Jeremiah before he was conceived. Zygotes exist before entering the womb, for several days in fact. And “appointing you a prophet to the nations” is something God can do regardless of your choices; this is something God will bring to pass.

A far more compelling text, one that presents problems for the Settled View, is Isaiah 5:2, which says:

NIV:

2 He dug it up and cleared it of stones
and planted it with the choicest vines.
He built a watchtower in it
and cut out a winepress as well.
Then he looked for a crop of good grapes,
but it yielded only bad fruit.

KJV:

2And he fenced it, and gathered out the stones thereof, and planted it with the choicest vine, and built a tower in the midst of it, and also made a winepress therein: and he looked that it should bring forth grapes, and it brought forth wild grapes.

YLT:

2And he fenceth it, and casteth out its stones, And planteth it [with] a choice vine, And buildeth a tower in its midst, And also a wine press hath hewn out in it, And hewaiteth for the yielding of grapes, And it yieldeth bad ones!

NASB:
2He dug it all around, removed its stones,
And planted it with the (A)choicest vine
And He built a tower in the middle of it
And also hewed out a wine vat in it;
Then He (B)expected it to produce good grapes,
But it produced only worthless ones.

And so I challenge Settled View theologians: Why did God expect good grapes, if he knew beforehand that the vineyard(Israel) would produce bad?

