Tags

, , , ,


This will be the first in a series in which I point out common grammatical errors and (hopefully) help some people avoid them. I love the English language, so please forgive my frustrated tone.

The word ‘tenant’ refers to a person who rents property. The word ‘tenet’ refers to a principle or belief. They are completely different. There are no ‘key tenants’ of Christianity. Seeing someone refer to the ‘key tenants’ of a particular belief system is, to me, almost as aggravating as seeing the word ‘dissapointed’ or the word ‘definately’, or even reading the phrase ‘very unique’.

If you have anything at all to say about this post, or if you are a repentant former follower of a belief system with tenants, please leave me a comment, and know that I remain ever

Your Humble Servant,

Samuel C Starrett

