Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Dear Reader,

It is with a heavy heart that I sit down to write this post. It grieves me deeply that my beloved West has come to this; that anywhere in the civilized world should I have to write of such a thing. If, indeed, I had to write of such practices occurring among tribal Africans or even the relatively civilized people of Asia, it would not be such a grievous wound to my heart. But when it happens in America, or in Europe, or in Oceania, ever the territory of the European races and the culture they have produced, the culture that I so love and admire, it is deeply distressing to me.

It appears that a gallant young Iowan man named Joel Northrup was forced to sacrifice a chance at a state title to follow his conviction that it is inappropriate for a young man to step onto the mat and wrestle a young woman.

I applaud his decision. I wish that there were more like him. But it is troubling to me that this should ever have come up. I recall her father being quoted describing Cassy as ‘my son. She’s always been my son…’

This is truly a disturbing way for a father to speak of his daughter, as I am sure my readership would agree. And it gets me to thinking. Often the argument is heard that if young women wish to participate in traditionally male activities, it is not a parent’s place to tell his daughter that this is not appropriate, that this would be unfair, that people ought to be allowed to pursue their own interests, whatever those might be.

Of course, the basic idea here is sound up to a point, but are there to be no limitations? Ought a person to do whatever strikes his(or her, I’ve always got to add ‘or her’ to be politically correct nowadays) fancy? Ought this to be acceptable? This author says no, resoundingly.

And I think, if my readers introspect and are honest with themselves, they will see that neither do they agree with this proposition. Tell me, readers, who among you would encourage his son to join the cheerleading squad? Tell me, readers, who among you would think it unfair to deny his son this opportunity to do what he’s interested in?

I sincerely hope that none of you would. I sincerely hope that all my readers would recognise that for a young man to behave in a feminine fashion is in no way something to be encouraged.

And this recognition ought to lead to another. If it is considered inappropriate for a young man to behave in a feminine manner, yet it is considered admirable for a young woman to behave in a masculine manner, as feminism tells us, what message are we sending to our young women?

I’ll tell you what message we’re sending:

MEN ARE SUPERIOR TO WOMEN

Or at least, we are sending the message that it is better to be a man than to be a woman. Think about it. The only logical reason for encouraging a young woman to act like a young man is because you think it is at least as good for her to act that way as to act like a woman. Yet when the converse message is not sent to boys, we can only conclude that those sending the messages believe the masculine to be better than the feminine, that a woman elevates herself by imitating men.

This is an odd message indeed to hear from those who tout the equality of the sexes. It seems to me that this is the most demeaning thing you could tell a young woman, and that a traditional, conservative attitude, which celebrates her femininity as such, rather than teaching her that it is some kind of handicap to overcome, would truly elevate her.

And so I conclude this post, hoping to God in heaven that I am not the only one to have noticed this inconsistency, and sending my sincerest praise to Joel Northrup for standing for principles too many have left behind, and, of course, I remain ever

Your Humble Servant,

Samuel C Starrett

